2017 – Let it go!

It is time for us to take it up a notch for 2017. We must let go of 2016. If you have not done so, it is about time you do. There is so much excitement in the air. It is a breath of fresh air to move forward into what we desire to do. But, it starts with letting go of the “what should have happened” and start focusing on what’s going to happen in your life as you work on your goals. Yesterday I spoke about goal setting and brought up some amazing learnable nuggets from my friend John C. Maxwell. Remember, we don’t go into an opportunity we grow into one. I have struggled year after year wondering if I would ever reach the point where I feel successful. However, all this time I was missing the point. I did not understand the law of process and even when I got a glimpse of it I was afraid. I held on to the past, constantly saying to myself, “I should have achieved this or that already.” Today, I want you to join me in releasing all those thoughts. Let it go! We need to understand that the past is already broken and the future is ready for your design. So, I say, let it go! The universe is asking you one question: Are you ready to take hold of what you deserve?

This is what I know, inside of us we have the power to achieve or to be deceived. If you choose to be deceived – deceived by your own thoughts, failures, and incompetence – you would have definitely given up on the potential of your dreams. However, if you get the courage to fight back and take hold on your purpose, you would have tapped into immeasurable opportunities. Can I tell you something? I was there once, not recognizing that I needed to let go. I held on to things that were already behind me. I was boxed into my own assumptions. It was a dilettante exercise for me as I seemed to love the idea of doing things differently but not stepping into my own lane. Before now, I had made my structure too small. I had built the walls that boxed me in and my thinking to create action was limited. But now, I realize that for me to improve I must remove the walls. I must let it go!

Grow from the inside out, not from the outside in. Walls contain you. [However, finding the ability to grow will mobilize your energy.] Also, know that your “structure does not determine your growth, growth determines your structure.” ~ John C. Maxwell

I understand we are all at different points in our growth, but the first step of taking things to the next level is letting go. Give yourself the permission to achieve. I challenge you today to identify the areas in your life that you have held hostage for whatever the reason. Make the decision to leverage for success and position towards greatness. It is yours if you are willing to work for it! Gary W. Keller and Jay Papasan shares in their book The ONE Thing: The Surprisingly Simple Truth Behind Extraordinary Results, that we should develop a success habit. Join me today in using this focusing question:

What’s the ONE Thing you can do such that by doing it everything else will be easier or unnecessary?

Make this year yours to find what value you’re born to give. When fear of not achieving hits you, remember to let it go!

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ~ Philippians 4:13

#Keep Doing Your Best Work!

RHOY

Leave a Reply

