2017 – The Appetite for Crisis, Chaos, and Defeat…

It is another wonderful day and I am feeling rather blessed to be alive to share with the world. In my view, life is what we make it and how much belief we have in the everlasting power of the Almighty Father of creation. As you read these thoughts I want you to embrace them with an open mind. These are not just thoughts, it is part of who I am and I have such joy in expressing them to you. In this world, there are so many obstacles, moments of loss and hopelessness. Often times, we do not even notice that these things exist around us. We often move so fast and in the hustle of everything, there is so much that we miss out on – opportunities to connect to change a life. It makes me wonder what are we really living for, or should I ask, who are we living for? This can be an easy question but applied to the attitude of having an appetite for crisis, chaos, and defeat will change the game. I am not an expert in neither of those situations nor did I know what this really meant. How does someone develop an appetite for crisis, chaos, and defeat? Why would we want to develop this type of an appetite? It was only yesterday, I had an aha moment with a friend who encouraged me to think deeply about these things. My mother would say, “let it soak”. I am sure it means the same thing according to what my friend suggested. Mind you, I have never heard nor was I taught to think this way before, so I had a challenge and I was won over as soon as my friend explained what this meant.

We were in a deep conversation about leadership and what this means to my friend. I was hooked when I was given the charge that we should approach life doing the things that no one else wants to do. We should find the situations where people are struggling and be willing to learn through it. As a leader, we must have an appetite for crisis, chaos, and defeat. To my friend this meant:

  • Crisis – having the urgency to make a decision with very little time.

  • Chaos – making a decision when very little structure and order is there.

  • Defeat – the urgency to make decisions with very little chance of success.

I thought this was phenomenal wisdom and worth sharing. My friend asked: “Who do I know who has experienced this type of leadership?” I was so thrilled by the question, I began to reflect on all the people I have heard, met or read about. The first one that came to mind was Rolihlahla “Nelson” Mandela. I cannot give you Nelson Mandela’s full story, but if you have followed history in recent times you would see why he matched someone who had an appetite for Crisis, Chaos, and defeat. His life embodied this so well – imprisoned for what he stood for and rose again to the point of true purpose. There are many who may not agree with some of what he did during his leadership, but he sought to bridge the gap in a divided country and world. His own words spoke to his resolve:

“I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”

This is just powerful stuff! It encourages us to live out the legacy in our lifetime to bring hope to the world; with what we do, say, and how we live. It is not a one day show but a journey through the undebatable process of understanding what it means to lead through crisis, chaos, and defeat. I know you and I can identify many leaders in our past and current lifetime who embodied this. As I shared with my friend, I could not help mentioning how my own mother has had to become emboldened through her crisis, chaos, and defeat to raise her children. I am sure you have a personal story as well of someone who fits this mold and I say, “cherish them.” The memories are powerful when they come alive. I too have had my own share of leading through Crisis, chaos, and defeat. And, guess what? I have won many times as I have failed and I know there are so much more opportunities for me to do it again. I believe my life is filled with small pockets of crisis, chaos, and defeat; but I stand tall.

Take today to think about your own life and moments when you had to deal head-on with crisis, chaos, and defeat. Understand, that you are not alone and we will become stronger as we seek to do things differently – solving real problems. You have it in you-I believe it!

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear…It always seems impossible until it’s done.” ~ Nelson Mandela

#Keep Doing Your Best Work!

RHOY

Leave a Reply

