2017 – What’s in it for me?

It is another Fantabulous day in the world! Even though we have challenges at times beyond our abilities and pay grade on the job, we learn to defy the odds. It is a good time to be alive, but have you asked yourself this question lately: “What’s in it for me?” At first, this might seem like you’re selfish, but if we contemplate this a little more we get to work out a different angle. The sophist in our mind will try to control our thoughts and tells us we are selfish to think about ourselves. I do not want anyone to get this wrong because I am not talking about people who do things in life with the expectation of “you owe me one”. Instead, I want to take us to the next level of living that dictates we should live in expectation that our efforts to grow will produce remarkable results. We often get bogged down with everything else and spend very little time to develop and sharpen our skills and the ways we can shape the world around us. We need to look beyond the physical to imagine the transformation that our life could have in the lives of others.  So, What’s in it for me? I get the chance to watch someone discover their true potential. As I grow I want to see you grow! Today is no different and there is something special that I would like for you to understand about what you were designed for. You and I have a chance in this life to reshape our legacy. I have begun that journey.

Many may not know about my experience, but I consider myself to be a go getter in life. I am hardly phased by a challenge and when one challenge is done I am hungry for more. The pains in my life have only created the callus of strength that I need today to do it again and do it stronger. What is your emotional pain that you want to heal? Do you have some scars in your life that just keep breaking out? I can tell you this, you are not alone. We all have emotional pain and scars that have kept us from getting to where we deserve. The only way that we can heal is determining to grow! I always love to share stories of my own personal journey – things that I had to overcome to heal and grow. I realized at an early stage in my life that there is no need to carry pain around. It only ways you down! Here’s one way I broke the ceiling by determining to grow:

In 2004, I decided to do one of the boldest things I believe. I have always wanted to know who my father was and every single day of my life that was a pain I carried around with me. When people would talk about their father or I would see my other friends connect with their father I felt empty. I knew someday I would need to meet him, but I was afraid. What if he didn’t want to have anything to do with me? What if I got to know him and didn’t like him? Why didn’t he want to come look for me and get the chance to know more about me? Was this my fault or just that he did not care? I toyed with a myriad of questions in my mind, but I knew that I wanted to know my birth father no matter what. It took me 19 years to muster up the courage to go and approach him, but by this time something significant had happened in my life. I had fully evolved in my journey as a disciple of Jesus Christ and now I had peace with everything. Every area of my life saw growth and I had a new purpose in life. Those questions that challenged me had subsided to the point where I felt in my heart that it was the right thing to do – connect with my father. He was my father and I had every right in the world to connect with him. I had to figure out, “What’s in it for me?” I was the one who was hurting and I knew exactly what I needed to do. Though this might have seemed pointless at the time to many it was my life and I knew what I wanted. I made the decision to meet my father and it was one of the best decisions I made at that time in my life. When I met my father, I loved him. I did not go expecting him to explain anything. I just decided that I will love him.

I am not sure what area of your life is hurting, but that pain can end when you decide to let it go. You may be asking, What’s in it for me? I can tell you right now that releasing your pain is what’s in it for you. You have the right to be happy. You deserve to get the most out of your life. I decided that I would share with you a synopsis of one of the ways I was able to heal and determining to grow. What is it that you are holding on to? What is holding you back from freeing up your mind? I need for you to release it today and start developing a plan of how you will focus on your happiness. No one else can make you happy if it doesn’t start first with your thoughts.

“Keep your hand firmly upon the helm of thought. In the bark of your soul reclines the commanding Master; He does but sleep; wake Him. Self-control is strength; Right Thought is mastery; Calmness is power.” ~ James Allen, As a Man Thinketh.

The power is inside of you to determine where you want to go and what you desire to be. Are you willing to do what it takes to awaken the light so it can shine brightly? I know that I am!

#Keep Doing Your Best Work!

RHOY

Leave a Reply

