2017 – Challenge your F.E.A.R.!

The soul attracts that which it secretly harbors; that which it loves, and also that which it fears. It reaches the height of its cherished aspirations. It falls to the level of its unchastened desires – and circumstances are the means by which the soul receives its own. ~ James Allen, As a Man Thinketh

What do I hate most in life? The thing(s) that I am afraid of. We all have things in our life that we are either scared to do or say. For some of us, it could have been something from the past that we never could over or a fear we have developed over the years. Whatever that thing is, it will hinder your true potential to grow as a person and a leader. I know we could talk about kids’ stuff such as the monster under our bed or some other fictitious character that we have conjured in our mind, but when we take a closer look into our desire to lead a better life this reshapes the “what” we are afraid of. You may fear the dark, being alone, dying, losing your job, losing your family, rejection or just talking to people, you name it – nothing will change until you challenge that fear. The acronym: F.E.A.R. or False Evidence Appearing Real has two key underlying factors – False and Appearing. When you and I feel afraid to say or do something, False ideas will pop up in our minds to create the illusion that what we are seeing or feeling is Real. However, it is far from real. The feeling of fear starts from the mind and develops slowly or quickly into this monster that haunts relentlessly. We end up living life afraid and everything comes with the self-deprecating questions: Am I good enough? What if it doesn’t work? What if I fail? What are people going to think or say about me? Our thoughts get filled with these unhelpful emotions. Your heart begins to race, your palms sweat, you feel the chills and before you know it everything is out of control. However, I am glad to let you know F.E.A.R. is irrelevant when you learn to channel that energy.

We can move from being scared to wanting to experience fear so we can challenge it. A lot of people might say that we should overcome our fears, but what that means quite often is allowing the fear to go dormant. In my view, we should not try to overcome fear because it is a part of what makes us human. I purport rather, that we challenge what we are afraid of. Put your F.E.A.R. to the test! You will win.

“Bless you for your fear for it is a sign of wisdom. Do not hold yourself in fear. Transform the energy to flexibility and you will be free from what you fear.” ~ Yuko Ono

In my own journey, I have so many fears that could have stopped me from achieving my goals. Recently, I came to the realization that the fear I feel or show is what I have in my thoughts. Think about it. If you say you are afraid to do something, where did you first form that idea? It cannot be from what you see, but it is from what you think. Our thoughts become the mirror to our soul and our actions. You may find this odd but the greatest fear that I have had was to the fear of being successful. There was something about success that scared me. What if I never become successful enough? What if I change who I am in the process? How would people treat me if I am successful? This plagued my mind constantly and I knew there must be something that I can change. I had it all mixed up in my mind. Verbally, I would express the desire for success, but deep down I was scared to achieve this because I had made my own assumptions about success. You may not have this experience but something in your life has prevented you from stepping into what you want. I encourage you to challenge that fear. The only way you can transfer that energy into something positive is being aware of your fear. The moment I became aware of my fear of success and becoming successful; I began to see a pattern in how my fear was trying to control my thoughts and eventually my actions. I made a decision to challenge my fears and produced results. Today, I am no longer afraid of success or being successful. In fact, I am so hungry for it that I talk and live it every day. It is as if I have had a rebirth in rediscovering myself. My walk with Jesus Christ was what provided the foundation for which I am able to rise above my fears. The boldness I have as a believer has given me clarity about challenging who I am on the inside – My F.E.A.R.s now have a platform to be challenged and I get to feel empowered. Release your fear, release your mind.

“say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance; with divine retribution, he will come to save you.” ~ Isaiah 35:4

As you face your fears head on and challenge to win, here are a few things you can do to channel that energy:

  1. Make a list of all the things you fear and find a moment of prayer to bring them to God, through Jesus Christ. Take them one at a time as you lay them before the Father, you begin to claim your healing.
  2. Document your thoughts – When you find yourself drifting into the realm of fear, relate that moment clearly. How do you feel? What makes you feel that way?
  3. Experience your fear. This might seem odd, but I can tell you it is a positive approach. When you are afraid begin to channel that energy by noting that it is there. Welcome the idea that you are afraid and say what you feel. You can say, “I feel afraid about________. I am aware of its presence. I welcome this fear because I am ready to challenge it.”

#Keep Doing Your Best Work!

RHOY

One thought on “2017 – Challenge your F.E.A.R.!

Leave a Reply

